CJ All The Way-Part Two

Good morning from the gorgeous Eastern Shore of Maryland! Well, it’s taken a little longer to get this blog published than I had planned, but get ready to enjoy Part Two of the adventures of our favorite fledging. When last we met, the primary topics were stories and photos from C.J.’s banding. Shortly after her big adventure with Craig and COM, C.J. fledged on August 20, 2021, which was a gloomy, wet day. I guess when nature calls, it’s time to fly. So without further adieu, please enjoy the rest of the story..

Here are some family photos before C.J.’s first flight.

A typical peaceful day at the nest. Tom is on his favorite perch drying his wings, Audrey is on her little post and C.J. is happy to be at home with mom and dad

Now Audrey is looking my way and C.J. is on high alert. Tom figures the girls can take care of themselves, and pays no mind to them or Mrs. COM

A little nature break for you to observe some wild clouds

Can you see the little lamb and plump chicken? Or how about the pig head? What else do you see?

As I mentioned, C.J. took to the skies on a less than ideal day for taking photos. This was her first stop after leaving the safety and security of the only home she had ever known.

C.J.’s first stop after leaving her nest, the good old, large target boat lift.

Such a gloomy day to leave a nice cozy nest

C.J. stayed on the boat lift for a good long while, but not as long as some of our previous new fledglings. Her next stop was one of the pilings.

Hmm, now what?, thinks C.J.

Does anyone know I’m here? Can anyone hear me? I’m hungry!

It didn’t take C.J. too long to master the one-legged stance. Her bling is tucked away for now while she is looking at something behind her

C.J. is ready for take-off with beautiful flying wings and her bling showing

Here is your first peek at C.J. in flight. She looks like a pro in just a few hours

C.J. is in focus, but Audrey, near the NEMA box, is not. The fish is not in focus either, but it doesn’t really care

This is what C.J. was looking at and squawking about while on the boat lift. Audrey is near the NEMA box with a substantial fish

Yes, I did, can you see it? Poop shot! COM thinks I am disgusting. I was delighted with my action photo. Such range, Audrey!

C.J.’s first day of flight was glorious. She didn’t stay as long in one place as some of our other fledgings have. After taking their first flights, some of our other youngsters have stayed at their first landing sites for hours. But not our C.J.!

While Audrey was eating and pooping, C.J. was delightful to watch as she flew around the neighborhood. Visible bling in this photo!

And back to Old Faithful, the trusty boat lift

Does this look like half an osprey to you? Kind of creepy, don’t you think?

Oh, no, what have I done? C.J. looks terrified

C.J. on the left, Roger on the right and Audrey in the middle, still munching on her fish as her baby roams the neighborhood. Wonder if she has given C.J. a curfew?

Another view of the same tranquil scene. Still looking kind of grey on the horizon

Time for a nature break from ospreys. My butterfly bush was magnificent this year. I couldn’t resist a few close-ups of visitors to my volunteer gone wild (the volunteer butterfly bush, that is).

Upside down butterfly

Same butterfly, this time right side up

A different visitor

Okay, last butterfly photo

Thanks for letting me take an osprey break, now back to what you all really want to see. Poor Tom hasn’t gotten very much press so far this blog, so here is a shout out to our fishing fool. Tom hasn’t spent as much time in the top of Joe’s big tree this season, but I did catch him surveying his kingdom from way up high in Joe’s big tree a couple of days before the big fledge.

I saw this osprey way up high, and decided to take a closer look

Lo and behold, it was Calico Tom the Fishing Fool. Hi, Tom!

Okay, back to fledge day and the escapades of C.J. in her new found flight.

After hanging on the boat lift for awhile with no fish delivery, C.J. decides to go back to the piling and make her hungry presence known to Audrey, who was still munching on her fish from near the NEMA box. Can’t you just hear C.J.?

C.J. is certainly her mother’s daughter in the squawking department

After being ignored, by her mother no less, C.J. takes her ball and goes home
Arriving back to the nest as the skies begin to clear.

As the days went on, it was truly heartwarming to watch C.J. getting used to her new flying skills. Over the years, I have always found great pleasure in watching our fledglings soar and dive and revel in their ability to finally experience the joys of flight.

Do you remember when Audrey Three was in our midst? Much to Tom’s chagrin, she took over his favorite perch on top of the camera pole. Well, shades of Audrey Three have returned. The young whippersnapper decided she wanted to hog the camera perch. Can a male osprey be henpecked? Inquiring minds want to know.

Audrey spreading her wings in the nest while the whippersnapper takes over the camera perch. Tom was off sulking somewhere

Be careful up there, says Audrey to C.J., who is looking a little precarious and off balance

After getting yelled at by mom, C.J. holds on for dear life before she gets grounded

C.J. does not let any interesting perch go empty, even with intruders going by.

Excuse me, sir and madam. Did you not notice the giant purple martin on top of the purple martin house?

C.J. does not seem bothered by the water travelers

A lovely duet with mother and daughter. Mother is on the nest perch yapping, and daughter is claiming squatter’s rights on her dad’s favorite digs while joining in the cacophony.

You may have noticed a dearth of photos that include the scraggly stick tree. Since the tree’s partial demise, our ospreys haven’t spent nearly as much time in it as in the past. But there are still times when I will notice one of the three hanging out in the remains of the scraggly stick tree.

Someone has been in the water

A wet Audrey drying off in the scraggly stick tree

Where’s Waldo, a.k.a. C.J.?

Do you see Waldo yet?





How about now?

A giant hint! And if you were here, you would probably hear her before you could see her, which is exactly how I found her in the tree!



Audrey is also looking for Waldo

Audrey is still looking. Maybe she hears C.J. yakking for some food?

Exorcist osprey

I slowly approached Audrey to take a close-up

After I took the above photo, this is the next thing I saw:

Mrs. COM manages to chase off Audrey yet again. She is really good at that

I wasn’t sure how much longer Audrey would grace us with her presence. I know we all had questions as to how long she would stay. In a normal year, which this hasn’t been due to Audrey’s late arrival and subsequent delayed egg laying and hatching, Audrey would leave sometime in mid August. As the end of August arrived, Audrey was still here.

Audrey and a gull, who was pretending it wasn’t interested in what was going on at the next piling



A really good view of Audrey’s eye markings. The fish has no eyes left to have markings, so we will just have to imagine how his eye markings appeared during better days

The gull tips its hand, and shows its interest in Audrey and the fish

Audrey and the unfortunate fish

Not one step closer, Mrs. COM, and I really mean it



Meanwhile, back at the nest, C.J. is patiently waiting for some of that fish.

C.J. is being a good girl and waiting patiently for lunch

Patience hell, I am going to get me some fish

Can you tell why C.J. is landing here?

Does this help? Looks like dad is also a meal possibility. Check out Tom on the picnic table while C.J. waits on the right side chair

Meanwhile, Audrey is still munching on eyeless Moby Dick and the gull is still hoping Audrey will somehow drop the fish or get full and leave it for her new best friend.

Would someone please call security?

No doubt why they are called ring-billed gulls. Audrey is starting to get annoyed

Are you still here?

Well, the hour is getting late and it’s time to wrap up for now. In my next blog, I will start with September 3, 2021, which was the last day I was able to photograph Audrey before she left for her winter digs down south of the border. I am sure she is down there by now enjoying her well-deserved winter break. Tom is still around, and I have lots of fun photos of him to share with you to take the sting out of Audrey’s departure. C.J. is a real character, and we enjoy watching her antics (albeit with ear plugs). She has definitely inherited her mother’s strong, loud set of lungs. C.J. has a very distinct call, which is different from her parents. Many of the other ospreys in the area have left for the season, although there are a few still with us. The bald eagles are more noticeable now, both by their presence and their distinct calls and crys. Between the ospreys leaving and the eagles becoming more prevalent, we know our osprey season is coming to a close, but not finished yet!

I will leave you with a couple of magnificent sunrise photos from the secret location.

Looking to the east on a late summer morning at sunrise



A quiet scene at sunrise at the secret location

Until next time, we remain-

Crazy Osprey Man, Mrs. Crazy Osprey Man and Osprey Girl

31 thoughts on “CJ All The Way-Part Two

  1. Dear Mrs. COM, Once again you have outdone yourself with the pictures and the behind the scenes ‘story’. You (and of course the rest of the COF) are the reason this is my favorite live camera to watch. It’s so sad when things are winding down at the end of the summer and the 2021 season. Thanks to Audrey’s late return, it’s lasted longer than normal. But what really blows us away, is your blog about ‘our’ Osprey. Thank you for your hard work in compiling the pictures and your commentary. Always looking forward to more – you can spoil us anytime!

    • Good morning, lyntuck! Yet another labor of love for me. I cannot tell you how much comments like yours make me happy and keep me going. Thanks ever so much for taking the time to reach out. I will have enough new material for at least one more blog this season with the photos I have taken since the end of this blog. If I get enough new photos, maybe two more, we will see. But definitely at least one more! Thanks for continuing to be a loyal camera watcher and blog reader. Mrs. COM

  2. I so enjoy your blogs!

    On Sun, Sep 19, 2021 at 2:30 AM Osprey Camera Blog wrote:

    > ospreycam posted: ” Good morning from the gorgeous Eastern Shore of > Maryland! Well, it’s taken a little longer to get this blog published than > I had planned, but get ready to enjoy Part Two of the adventures of our > favorite fledging. When last we met, the primary topics w” >

    • Good morning, sclarkd1sec! It’s really nice to know when folks like you are enjoying my blogs. As I have said before, and I really mean it, your comments really help to keep me going! I always worry I am being repetitive and boring, so thanks for letting me know that you still enjoy reading them. Thanks for continuing to be a loyal blog reader and camera watcher! Mrs. COM

  3. Enjoyed this so much, thank you.

    On Sun, Sep 19, 2021 at 2:30 AM Osprey Camera Blog wrote:

    > ospreycam posted: ” Good morning from the gorgeous Eastern Shore of > Maryland! Well, it’s taken a little longer to get this blog published than > I had planned, but get ready to enjoy Part Two of the adventures of our > favorite fledging. When last we met, the primary topics w” >

    • Hi there, ceese ollendike! Thanks for much for taking the time to leave a comment. Knowing that my blogs are still being enjoyed really encourages me to keep writing them. Glad you liked this one! I am planning at least one more blog this season, so we are not done yet! Thanks for reading my blogs and watching the camera (when it is working, ugh). Mrs. COM

  4. Thank you so much for a wonderful season of Audrey, Tom, and beautiful CJ. I can’t tell you how much it has brightened my day…….every day. YOUR Blogs are amazing…..this is my first season, so I read the Blogs from past seasons. Will be back…..Debbie

    • Hi, Debbie! Welcome to the secret location! I am very happy you have found our little osprey family, camera and blogs. Hopefully, COM will have the unfortunate camera situation worked out by next season. He has been working with the Explore folks to figure out what has gone wrong this season. The newer, better equipment certainly has not worked out for our viewers this year. Happy reading, you have lots of blogs to read to catch up! Thanks for joining us, and come on back. I am planning at least one more blog this season, maybe two if I get enough new photos. Thanks for reaching out with a comment. Mrs. COM

  5. I was so excited to see a new blog. You are the best! I love the photos and hearing “the real story” on the secret location and its occupants. Thank you so much. I pray for Audrey’s safe return next year. She, too, is amazing.

  6. Thank you so much COM Family for all you do and share with all of us. First Class all the way. If I don’t write later, please have a safe and healthy winter. Never think you are not appreciated!

    • Hi, Cathryn! I am happy to know that we are appreciated. Although I am the blog writer and photographer, COM does way more than me to keep things going at the secret location. There really wouldn’t be a camera without him. He has been working with the Explore folks to figure out what went wrong with the camera this season. We were all so disappointed, as with the new equipment we were thinking it would be a wonderful experience for all. So back to the drawing board for next season! Thanks for taking the time to reach out. Have a wonderful, safe winter. Hope to “see” you next season, but there will be at least one if not two more blogs coming up! Mrs. COM

  7. Once again a delightful blog full of beautiful photos. Thank you!! I’ve been a faithful watcher for several years and do remember the days of E.T. That was quite a summer!

    • Good morning, Marjorie! Wow, a faithful watcher all the way back to 2015, which was a memorable season for sure! Thank you so much for sticking with us all these years and for reaching out with a wonderful comment. Stick around for my next blog, which will also be full of beautiful photos. We all wish fair winds to our very special Audrey for a safe journey to her winter home. Stay tuned! Mrs. COM

  8. Good morning, Mary! It’s always good to hear from you and read your wonderful comments, which keep me going! Safe travels to our sweet Audrey. In the meantime, I will keep an eye on Tom and C.J., who are very much still here although rarely at the nest. Thanks for taking the time to reach out and continuing to be a loyal camera watcher and blog reader. Mrs. COM

  9. Another great write up, with stunning pictures Mrs. COM. So, when does CJ take flight for the winter, since Mama has fled for winter climes? And, will she go before Tom, or is there no rhyme or reason as to the last to go? Thank you for all the time and effort you put into these blogs. I have learned so much about osprey life form you. Enjoy fall!

    • Hi, Mary Anne! Not sure when CJ will take flight for the winter since she was a month late in hatching. In seasons past, Tom has usually stayed around until the last fledgling has departed, late September/early October so we are getting into the window now. This is uncharted territory for us. I saw them both today, but C.J. is spending much less time in the nest. I can hear her calling, as she has a very distinct call from the other ospreys. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I am happy that you are enjoying my blogs and watching the camera. Here’s to safe travels to all of our osprey! Mrs. COM

  10. Thank you so much for a entertaining and informative blog! Such great pictures too. I don’t get to watch the webcam much anymore due to my schedule, so I love reading this to get filled in on all the exciting Osprey happenings! You really are an excellent writer. Have a great day, and thanks again!! Looking forward to the next one.

    • Hi, Linda! I am happy to hear I am keeping you up-to-date on what’s happening in and around the nest. Well, maybe not exactly up-to-date, but close enough! Those darn schedules do get in the way. Thanks for taking the time to read my blogs. I love getting positive feedback, really makes my day! At least one more blog to go this season, and maybe two if I get enough new photos before Tom and C.J. leave town. Mrs. COM

  11. Thank you so much for your blogs. I love the photos and your captions make me smile and laugh. It’s sad when the season ends, but I wish Tom and Audrey well on their journey and back home again in Spring. What a beautiful place to live. I’m in Maryland and whenever I go to OC, I look for osprey when I see the Kent Island sign.

    • Hi, Darlene! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment on my blog. Knowing that people are enjoying the photos and captions makes me smile! Yes, the summer of 2015 was quite an adventure for many reasons. One of the best parts was meeting Craig Koppie and becoming friends with him. He is quite a guy. It is sad to see the end of the osprey season, but it means the swans will be back in a couple of months. Thanks again for being a loyal camera watcher and blog reader. Mrs. COM

  12. Once again Mrs. COM you have brought all of us another post full of humor and beautiful photos! I’m always so happy to get the email that says there’s a new blog post. It’s hard to believe the season is almost over and what an incredible season it has been with the unbelievable return of Audrey 2 when we had just about given up hope. I am also an avid fan of the brown bears at Brooks Falls in Katmai NP. One of the oldest and most beloved bears, 480 Otis, also showed up a month later than he ever has before. He was very thin but is now very fat and hopefully will have the fat reserves to survive another winter. I’m so hopeful that Otis and Audrey 2 will be back with us next year. Nature is a miracle for sure! Thanks so much again for all the time and energy you and your family put into caring for this special osprey family. Also, I love the poop shots! Artistry in motion!! And I saw a rabbit in the middle cloud (head tilted up and ears back). 😉

    • Hi, Debbie! Thanks for filling me in on some of your other favorite cameras. Let’s hope that 480 Otis and Audrey 2 will be back with us in the spring! I will take another look at the cloud photo for your bunny. Stay tuned for the next blog if you like poop shots, hint, hint! Sometimes I save the best for last. Thanks for continuing to be a loyal camera watcher and blog reader. Hopefully, we will have the camera/sound issues figured out for next season. I appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment, thanks so much! Stay safe! Mrs. COM

  13. Happy Autumn, Mrs COM and the COF! So glad it turned out to be a successful summer! I’ve been an avid Audrey & Tom watcher since 2012 or 2013. Every Spring has brought the anticipation of the same Audrey’s and Tom’s return, and the hopes for good weather, good fishing, and a successful fledging!
    I wanted to thank you for allowing us to watch and listen along with you, for taking time to keep us informed of happenings in and around the nest, and for all your beautiful photography! Your blog has never failed to captivate and amuse me! Thank you so much for including us in your personal family endeavor!

    • Hi, Linda! I am very happy to hear that you have been following the escapades of Tom and Audrey since the beginning of our partnership with the Chesapeake Conservancy in 2013! It’s folks like you that keep us going! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful comment. Here’s to the end of a great season, and an even better one next year (with camera and sound!). Mrs. COM

  14. Good morning. Not so far away from Kent Island, I particularly enjoy your photos and blog. Wish I could see CJ in person. What a pleasure it is to be near the Bay and know that I can escape from the craziness of inside the Beltway.

    • Hi, Mary Cook! Sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your kind comment. I have been out of town for about 10 days and just returned this evening. It’s always nice to know that you are enjoying my blog and photos, really makes it more fun for me to keep going. Living here on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and on the water has been very special. I still marvel at the beauty daily, even after living here 32 years! Thanks for being a loyal camera watcher and blog reader. One more to go this season for sure, possibly two, so stay tuned! Mrs. COM

  15. OMG it seems to be almost time for the return of Audrey and Tom for the 2022 season and I am just posting a comment and enjoying the photos even more! Sorry for the delay. Your creativity with your photos and comments of same are the best and don’t change anything that you are doing as it is perfect. Well tell Mr. COM and his helpers to plan the date for the low tide for the placement of pole and camera this season and you can plan on making the muffins! Adios from your friend Moe on Cape Cod! A shout out also to Chesapeake Conservancy and all the moderators for this nest! and osprey girl!

    • Hi, Moe from Cape Cod, one of my favorite places in the world! We will take all comments whenever posted, so thank you so much for taking the time to leave one. I am glad you are still enjoying the blogs and camera after all these years of being one of our most faithful camera watchers and blog readers. The poles and cameras will be up in time for the return of our ospreys, everyone is starting to get excited. The behind-the-scenes work has already started, so it won’t be long now! Thanks again, Mrs. COM

Leave a comment