The Circle of Life Part Two-September 2022 through 7/24/2023

NOTE: DEAR BLOG READERS-I JUST SPENT HOURS AND HOURS WRITING THIS BLOG. WHEN I WENT TO PUBLISH IT, NOTHING SAVED BUT THE BELOW COUPLE OF PARAGRAPHS. I WILL ATTEMPT TO RECREATE IT, BUT AM FEELING QUITE DISCOURAGED AT THE MOMENT SO I DON’T KNOW WHEN I WILL GET TO IT. THANKS FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING

Good evening from the stormy Eastern Shore of Maryland! Last night was kind of scary here at the secret location. Due to the weather forecast, the osprey camera was turned off in hopes of avoiding the damage we suffered during the last nasty storm. In the midst of the approaching severe storm, our lovely youngster, Molly, tried to continue learning the ins and outs of flight. I usually take great delight in watching the hop/flaps, but I was on pins and needles last night. Even without the camera, I couldn’t bear to watch, but at the same time, I couldn’t bear not to watch. At one point during the storm, I could no longer see Molly, who was alone in the nest. Much to my great relief and delight, when the storm passed her head popped back up. I did not see any adults with her while there was still light. There were storms in the area most of the night, so the camera wasn’t back on until this morning. All looks well as far as we can see. There was a severe lightening strike to my neighbor’s trees along the rip-rap very close to the pole, but fortunately, the ospreys and camera seemed to have been spared.

In my last blog, I left you at the end of August 2022, with only Tom remaining at the secret location. Let’s pick it up from September 2022. There are so many spectacular sunrises here, it is always hard to choose which ones to post. Here is a pretty one from September 3.

Tom spent the rest of his time with us enjoying his usual activities. Without a youngster to monitor, he had his time to himself. Here he is on his favorite crossbar.

Lonely Tom on his crossbar at dusk

Here he is enjoyed the view from the top of the swan camera, which is now permanently mounted on the dock

11 thoughts on “The Circle of Life Part Two-September 2022 through 7/24/2023

  1. Tom,
    I know how you feel. I’m alone and looking too. It’s not easy out in the dating world.
    Well, at least, you have feathers to attract someone from the opposite sex. I got nothing quite as lovely as those.
    Keep your beak up. Things are bound to turn around.
    If you’re ever in Kentucky, know you have a rooftop with your name on it. Take care and remember, somedays your the bird and somedays you’re the windshield. That’s just life.
    Keep the faith, dude!
    Becky

  2. Our beautiful osprey friends are so fortunate to have you helping them. I was just watching Molly trying to sleep standing up. She hasn’t quite mastered the balance yet. A head itch put an end to what she was trying to do. Molly briefly tried a couple of wingercize movements, accidentally waking Audrey by smacking her in the face with her wing, then Molly carefully laid down to sleep in the middle of her nest.

    Sharon

  3. I’m so sorry the hours of reflecting and typing and trying not to leave anything out got wiped out during the publishing process. As someone who’s been watching this nest and reading your blogs for years, I can almost guess what parts are missing, as so much has happened, with Tom not making it back, new Tom and Audrey pairing up, the challenges of the new pair dynamics and the scary first week for the chick as a result. Then fast forward we have the super wonderful progress of Molly since then, Tom proving to be a great fisherman, the various scary storms and a chick eager to fly, maybe to eager! Take your time Mrs. COM, I’ve done exactly the same and it all came back. Another night, a glass of wine & cheese and it’ll all be good.

  4. Mrs. COM, so sorry all your work came to naught (well actually a bit above that). Anyone who has used a computer feels your pain. We still have birds to watch, so we’re good for now. Take your time, we’ll be here! Love you! Evelyn from Macon

  5. Thanks for the blog posting! You’ve been the best caretaker of Tom, Audrey and their offspring over the years 😄

  6. That must be so frustrating! I thank you for what did get posted. It is great to hear the birds, their nest, and the canera survived. Love this blog!

  7. Oh, how sad that all your hard work gets knocked out. The mysteries of the computer world. We’ve all been there. Totally understand your frustration, Mrs. COM. As another poster wrote, a nice glass of wine may make it better.

    It’s been quite the year, what with Tom the fishing crazy not returning, Audrey fighting off an intruding pair and then accepting new Tom. Molly is doing so well, flapping away like mad. I worried for her early on when she toppled over on her back and had trouble getting upright. All seems right now with this little family. YAY!

  8. I truly empathize. Has happened to me. Thank you so much for your wonderful writing and sharing of the Osprey adventures. I have been with you for years. Sending you a big hug, Cathy Schmidt

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

  9. Thank you for the latest update. I always look forward to reading them. I am sad that our old Tom did not return this year but the new Tom is certainly getting the hang of it. With instructions from Audrey, no doubt. And, how about the precious baby Molly. She certainly seems to take after her mom.

  10. Hello Mrs. COM, Thank you for your blog and for sharing the life cycle of Audrey and Tom. I’ve been following the Explore live cam for 3 years. COM is superman! Regards, Bnii

Leave a comment