Fish, Anyone?

The Crazy Osprey Family is back! Out of town summer fun, visiting family and friends, has taken up a fair amount of our August. We are catching up with our daily lives, and our osprey family is certainly a part of our activities. It’s good to go away, but we missed our feathered friends.

All three chicks are now flying with gusto and confidence. Chester and Essie still enjoy a good time flying around together. And I am sure the Facebook watchers have noticed that sometimes there are four young ospreys in our nest! The visiting cousin looks quite a bit different than our resident youngsters, with a whiter face and head. At one point yesterday, I looked at the camera, and there were two youngsters in the nest, each chowing down on the bottom half of a fish. As all of you camera watchers are aware, it is increasingly difficult to tell the young ones apart without seeing their chest feathers. And we certainly don’t like to share now, do we?

There have been a few questions on Facebook asking if Chester, Essie and Ozzie have been catching their own fish or still being fed by Tom and Audrey. At this point, we feel that Audrey has gone on to her winter digs. We have not observed two adults together in the nest since before our August travels began. This has been the usual pattern for our Tom and Audrey pairs over the years. Audrey will leave first, then Tom will head south around the same time as the kids. One adult is still around, and we are fairly certain it is Tom.

But now back to the fish question. We would like to share with you a series of photographs that will answer the question of who is now catching the fish.

Ozzie in the nest minding her own business

Ozzie in the nest minding her own business


Ozzie settling in, waiting for fish.

Ozzie settling in, waiting for fish.


Here comes a menhaden!

Here comes a menhaden!


What do you think of this one, Ozzie?

What do you think of this one, Ozzie?


Don't tell Mom and Dad I know how to do this.

Don’t tell Mom and Dad I know how to do this.


Everyone shows up for a free meal

Everyone shows up for a free meal


I don't think there is enough for everyone

I don’t think there is enough for everyone


Ready or not, here I come!

Ready or not, here I come!


Don't pretend you can't see me

Don’t pretend you can’t see me

Hey, where are you guys going?

Hey, where are you guys going?

Maybe if I hide my head, they won't see me coming

Maybe if I hide my head, they won’t see me coming


Hey, come back with that fish!

Hey, come back with that fish!


Mine, all mine

Mine, all mine


I don't want to share

I don’t want to share


I hope I don't drop this thing

I hope I don’t drop this thing


Where do I go now?

Where do I go now?

No doubt that this is one of the youngsters

No doubt that this is one of the youngsters


This menhaden is trying to get away!

This menhaden is trying to get away!


I need to hold on with two talons

I need to hold on with two talons


No harm in looking

No harm in looking


This fish is getting heavy

This fish is getting heavy


I'm back!

I’m back!


I told you I wouldn't eat it all

I told you I wouldn’t eat it all


Do you still want some?

Do you still want some?

As you can see, the parent(s) are no longer exclusively feeding their young. Our babies are growing up, and are frequently successful in catching their own fish. We have a plethora of other photos to post in days to come. In the next blog, we will take a trip around the neighborhood to visit some of the ospreys favorite places when they are not in the nest.

Until next time, we remain
Crazy Osprey Man and Mrs. Crazy Osprey Man

If you are enjoying the osprey camera and blog, please consider a donation to the Chesapeake Conservancy so they are able to continue supporting programs such as this one. Go to http://www.chesapeakeconservancy.org today. Thanks very much!